Guide · Roundup
· 11 min read

The best IELTS Speaking apps in 2026, compared honestly

Quick answer

There is no single best IELTS Speaking app for everyone. This roundup compares nineteen products using only what each one's own store listing or website says, ordered by how closely that stated scope matches what an IELTS Speaking candidate needs — not by testing we have not done. Check three things first: whether it scores against the four named IELTS criteria, whether it runs a full timed Parts 1-3 mock, and whether it exists on your platform at all, because several of the most widely recommended tools are web-only and have no phone app.

Every Speaking answer is scored twice, strict and lenient, so you can see the range you would realistically get on the day rather than one guessed number.

iOS and Android

On this page

We make IELTS Mentor AI, one of the products discussed here. We’ve tried to be fair; check each product’s own current listing before you decide.

“Best” depends on what you need — criterion scoring, a timed Parts 1-3 mock, feedback on your individual mistakes, the other papers, or just spoken confidence. The nineteen products below are built for different combinations of those, and several of the ones assistants recommend most often turn out not to be phone apps at all.

Key takeaways

  • Check whether a product’s listing describes scoring against IELTS’s four named criteria first — that separates an IELTS-built tool from a general one fastest.
  • Check the platform second. Five of the nineteen are web-only, three more are Android and web with no iPhone app, and one ships store listings describing a different exam.
  • A band range is a more honest estimate than a single guessed number, since real examiners differ by half a band.
  • The order reflects fit for a candidate’s stated needs, not a tested quality ranking.

What this page covers

What actually matters before you look at anything

Criteria-based scoring. IELTS Speaking is marked on four named criteria: Fluency and Coherence, Lexical Resource, Grammatical Range and Accuracy, and Pronunciation. A listing naming these, or close equivalents, built its feedback around the actual rubric.

Explanation, not just a flag. A description of why an answer scored what it did — which mistake, and what it cost — beats a bare number.

A band range, not a single number. Two real examiners can mark the same answer half a band apart, so one confident-sounding figure overstates its own precision.

Mock timing and Part 1/2/3 coverage. The real test runs a fixed order: a short interview, a prepared cue card, then a discussion. Simulating that tests you closer to real conditions than isolated questions do.

The platform you actually own. Several of the most-recommended tools are websites with no phone app, and a few Android apps have no iPhone equivalent — so a list that never mentions platforms is a list you can’t act on.

Honesty of scope. Watch for marketing lines claiming more than the itemised features describe, store listings that describe a different product from the website, and the fact that none of these products says how long your Speaking recordings are kept — ours included.

How we put this list together

Every fact below comes from the product’s own App Store listing, Google Play listing or website, checked on 18 September 2026 — no review sites, no other roundups, no ratings used as a ranking input. We have not tested these products against each other, so nothing here is a quality judgement. Where a product’s material doesn’t say something, this page says so rather than guessing. And we make one of them, which is why the disclosure sits at the top rather than buried at the bottom.

The nineteen products, ordered by fit

Built only for IELTS Speaking

1. IELTSpeaking. Describes “full IELTS Speaking mock tests, 1-on-1 AI examiner feedback, and precise band scoring,” with Parts 1, 2 and 3 also practised separately, each mock returning a report on “grammar, fluency, vocabulary, and pronunciation” — its own wording for the four criteria. No Writing.

2. SpeakPrac. Android and web, no iPhone app. Its Play listing describes a “full IELTS speaking mock test app with Parts 1, 2, and 3,” an estimated band from 5 to 9 “based on official IELTS criteria,” and “Improved Version” rewrites of your own answers.

3. Cathoven IELTS. Android and web; Cathoven’s download page still lists iOS as “Soon.” It describes band scores “with an overall score plus the four official criteria,” Part 1-3 practice with exam-style questions, and a colour-coded transcript you tap for corrections. A separate general app, Cathoven Speaking, makes no IELTS-rubric claim.

4. Sprechify. Web-only; no store listing found on either platform. Its site describes two-way spoken conversation “across Part 1, 2 and 3,” one mock covering all three parts under exam timing, a band score “against the official IELTS Band Descriptors,” and worked rewrites explaining what an examiner rewards.

5. TalkDrill. Android and web, no iPhone listing found. Its IELTS Speaking page lists all four criteria as scored dimensions, with a timed cue card and an estimated band, plus corrections mid-sentence during an AI call. It also offers bookable human coaches.

6. FixoLang. iOS, Android and web. Its description promises “real-time assessment” of grammar, sentence structure, coherence and IELTS vocabulary usage — not the four official names — over a library of speaking topics, and adds EngVarta’s human mentors. Whether a continuous Part 1-2-3 mock exists is not stated.

IELTS Speaking alongside other papers

7. Our app. Scores on all four public criteria and reports a range from a strict examiner setting to a lenient one, explains each mistake, tracks recurring ones with their band impact, and runs a full Parts 1-3 mock at exam timing. Writing Task 1 and Task 2 are marked separately. No Listening or Reading. iOS and Android.

8. IELTS Prep - TalkFace. Describes an “AI-powered IELTS Speaking & Writing coach” with “realistic mock tests and instant scoring and feedback” for both papers, and band scores on essays. It does not name the four criteria, and its closing claim about Listening and Reading is not matched by any itemised module.

9. Stimuler. iOS, Android and web. Its IELTS page names fluency, lexical resource, grammatical range and pronunciation, its FAQ describes Part 1, Part 2 and Part 3 with AI scoring, and the listing promises “Speech Insights” beyond a raw score. Its page title covers Speaking, Writing and Reading. Its real site is stimuler.tech; stimuler.com is a parked domain.

10. SmallTalk2Me. Web-only, no store listing found. It describes an “AI simulator for IELTS Speaking Parts 1, 2, and 3 with instant grading,” names all four criteria on its IELTS page, and adds a separate Writing simulator plus shadowing, listening and quiz practice.

11. Speechful. Web-only. It describes speaking “with an AI IELTS examiner” across Parts 1-3 under timed conditions, names the four criteria on its Speaking grader page, and adds a Writing grader for Tasks 1 and 2 and a timed Reading test with an estimated band.

12. Engnovate. Web-only, and structured differently: Speaking evaluation is split into separate Part 1, Part 2 and Part 3 checkers rather than one continuous scored mock. Its Part 1 checker shows a breakdown labelled with the official criteria (plus Task Response, normally a Writing criterion), and the site lists Writing, Listening, Reading tools. Human tutoring is a disclosed Preply partnership.

13. British Council IELTS Ready. A web platform, not a mobile app: no store app of that name exists, and British Council’s own apps are general English tools. Its page describes “scored practice tests, personalised AI feedback, courses and expert support,” with a full mock giving Reading, Listening, Writing and Speaking scores. It does not describe the Speaking test’s internal part structure, or whether any feedback is human.

14. TestGlider. The one to read carefully. Its App Store and Google Play listings describe TOEFL only and never mention IELTS; the IELTS material — Speaking Parts 1-3, and a Band Overview named after the four official criteria — exists only on testglider.com.

Not built to score your IELTS Speaking

15. IELTS by IDP. From an IELTS co-owner. Its listing describes a preparation checklist, an English self-assessment, booking and results, and partner-delivered courses, with auto-marked sample Listening and Reading tests through an India-only partnership. No AI-scored Speaking or Writing feedback.

16. ELSA Speak. A general AI pronunciation and speaking coach, naming IELTS as one of several exams its targeted exam practice covers, alongside TOEFL, TOEIC, EIKEN and CEFR. Its listing describes neither IELTS-criterion scoring nor a Parts 1-3 mock.

17. Praktika. Describes “ultra-realistic AI Avatars” for conversation across twelve languages, with “academic prep (IELTS, TOEFL)” as one of more than a thousand lessons. No band scoring or exam-part structure.

18. Talkpal. General AI conversation across “130+ languages,” with chat, roleplay and debate modes. Its listing does not mention IELTS at all.

19. Cambly. Live video conversation with human English speakers, “anytime, anywhere, any level.” No IELTS, no band scoring and no AI examiner in its listing — which is the point of it, if a real person is what you want.

How they compare

Every cell reports what the product’s own listing or website says, as checked on 18 September 2026. “Not stated” means the material doesn’t say, not that the feature is absent.

Product Platforms Four criteria claimed? Full Parts 1-3 mock claimed? Explains individual mistakes? Other skills covered Human tutors?
IELTSpeaking iOS (Android/web not checked) Yes, in its own terms Yes; parts also separately Not stated — per-criterion report None stated No — AI examiner
SpeakPrac Android + web; no iPhone app Yes, in its own wording Yes, at exam timing Yes — “Improved Version” rewrites None stated No
Cathoven IELTS Android + web; no iPhone app Yes, the four official names Yes Yes — transcript corrections None in its app listings No
Sprechify Web only Yes, against the descriptors Yes, all three parts in one Yes — worked rewrites None stated No
TalkDrill Android + web; no iPhone app Yes, the four official names Yes, with a timed cue card Yes — mid-sentence corrections Listening drills; no writing module Yes — bookable coaches
FixoLang iOS + Android + web No — its own four dimensions Not stated — a topic library Not stated — category-level only None stated Yes — EngVarta mentors
Our app iOS + Android Yes, as a strict-to-lenient range Yes, Parts 1-3 with exam timing Yes — each one, recurring ones with band impact Writing Tasks 1 and 2 only No
IELTS Prep - TalkFace iOS (Android/web not checked) Band scores; criteria not named Mocks described; parts not itemised Not stated Writing; a general four-skill claim Not stated
Stimuler iOS + Android + web Yes, on its site Yes Yes — tips and “Speech Insights” Writing and Reading, per its site No
SmallTalk2Me Web only Yes, on its IELTS page Yes, instantly graded Yes — strengths and what to improve Writing simulator; shadowing, listening No
Speechful Web only Yes, on its Speaking grader page Yes, timed Yes — an exercise from your own mistakes Writing Tasks 1 and 2; timed Reading No
Engnovate Web only Yes, plus Task Response No — three separate checkers Not stated Writing, Listening, Reading tools Via a Preply partnership
British Council IELTS Ready Web only; no app of that name Four-skill scores; not itemised Not stated Not stated All four papers Not stated
TestGlider Store listings are TOEFL-only; IELTS on its website Yes on its website only Yes on its website only Not stated Reading, Listening, Writing (TOEFL, in-app) No
IELTS by IDP iOS (AU/IN storefronts) No No Not stated Sample Listening/Reading via a partner, India-only Not stated
ELSA Speak iOS (Android/web not checked) No No No — general pronunciation feedback None stated No
Praktika iOS (Android/web not checked) No No Not stated None stated No
Talkpal iOS (Android/web not checked) No — no IELTS mention No Not stated A general four-skill claim No
Cambly iOS (Android/web not checked) No — no IELTS mention No No — a person, not analysis None stated Yes

Why this list is not ranked 1 to 19

Because a ranking implies a test, and we have not run one. Nineteen products cannot be honestly ordered by quality from their own marketing copy, and an ordering built on ratings would mostly measure how many people use a product for something other than IELTS. What the order encodes instead is scope fit: how much of what a candidate needs each product’s own material claims to do. Something near the bottom may be excellent at what it was built for — Cambly’s human tutors and Talkpal’s language range are real things people want — but neither is built to tell you your Speaking band.

Where our own app honestly sits

Ours scores against the four public criteria, reports a range rather than one number, explains each mistake and tracks the recurring ones with their band impact, runs a full Parts 1-3 mock at exam timing, and marks Writing Task 1 and Task 2, on iOS and Android. Where it is narrower: one exam, one language, no Listening or Reading, no human tutor, no browser version of the scored practice. Several products here are broader, and a few of the web-only ones cover more papers. Whether that trade-off suits you depends on whether breadth or precision on one Speaking band matters more right now.

How to actually choose

Start with the platform, because it eliminates the most options fastest: the iPhone list rules several of these out before you read another word, the Android list does the same, and the browser tools work on either. Then start with what you are missing. If you don’t know your rough level, a short self-assessment is faster than trying something blind. If you know it but haven’t tested it against exam timing, a full Speaking mock test tells you more in twenty minutes than another week of unstructured practice.

Frequently asked questions

What's the single most useful thing to check before downloading any IELTS Speaking app?

Whether its own listing describes scoring against IELTS's four named criteria — Fluency and Coherence, Lexical Resource, Grammatical Range and Accuracy, and Pronunciation — or just general feedback. That one distinction separates IELTS-built tools from general conversation apps fastest.

Is a single predicted band number more useful than a range?

Less than it looks. Real IELTS examiners can differ by up to half a band on the same answer, so a range — a stricter estimate and a more lenient one — represents an AI estimate more honestly than a single confident-sounding number.

Why are some of the tools people recommend not available as an app?

Because several of them were built for the browser and never shipped a phone app at all. SmallTalk2Me, Speechful, Sprechify, Engnovate and British Council's IELTS Ready platform are web-only at the time of writing (18 September 2026), and Cathoven, SpeakPrac and TalkDrill run on Android and the web with no iPhone app. If a roundup lists them without saying so, it hasn't checked.

Do any of these tools cover Listening or Reading as well as Speaking?

Some do, and the spread is wider than it used to be. Engnovate and British Council's IELTS Ready describe tools across all four papers, Speechful describes a Reading test alongside Speaking and Writing, and Stimuler's site lists Reading and Writing. Most of the Speaking-only apps, including ours, describe neither Listening nor Reading.

Why isn't this list ranked 1 to 19 by quality?

Because that would imply we tested nineteen products against each other, and we haven't. The order reflects how closely each product's own stated scope matches what an IELTS Speaking candidate specifically needs, not a verified quality ranking.

Practise this with instant AI feedback

Record your answer in the app and get your grammar, vocabulary, fluency and pronunciation analysed in seconds.

Related

Related across the site

All guides →